The Go Devil Hook & Ladder
Company had an engine house somewhere along main street across
from Tinto's Barber Shop. The building was 20 x 40 ft, two stories
in height. It housed the equipment of the fire department along
with meeting rooms for the department and borough officials.
"Although Duke Centre has so far been extremely fortunate
in regard to the visits of the fiery fiend, still protection against
a possible invasion of the devouring element was necessary; and
at the time of writing, this borough can boast of a hook and ladder
company and bucket brigade and a hose company, both of which are
being well equipped by the citizens to fight any fire that may
occur in the future. Messrs. C. G. Cook, Clark Way, H. B. Spencer
and J. S. Safford are deserving of credit for their efforts in
staring these companies and the citizens have nobly responded
to their appeals for the requisite funds to equip them.
A number of our prominent men also conceived the idea of laying
a water line through the borough to be supplied by a twelve hundred
barrel tank to be placed on a hill at a sufficient elevation to
throw a heavy stream over any building in town. The pipe is now
being laid and the tank built. When the work is accomplished,
Duke Centre will have a thorough water works system and as efficient
means of extinguishing fire as any borough in the Commonwealth
Messrs. J. B. McElwaine, B. F. Moulton and W. H. Longwell have
been the leading spirits in this enterprise and a large amount
of money has been collected by them and to be applied upon the
work. All our citizens cheerfully responding to the call."
-excerpt from History of Duke Centre in 1880.